We at The Nerd Stash are here for the anxiously awaited return of the Wonder Woman comic book character, Nubia. We were lucky enough to talk to author L.L. McKinney about the return of the Wonder Woman comic book character Nubia and what we can look forward to.

Q: Why is the Woman Woman character Nubia returning now?

A: “I’ve been talking about Nubia for years and how she was done wrong by Crisis, which is the DC event that erased her as she existed originally,” McKinney said. “We’ve gotten other iterations of her, but never one that tied directly to her first appearance. Until now.”

Q: What is the importance of the Wonder Woman character, Nubia?  Why is she noteworthy?

A: “She’s DC’s first Black woman superheroine,” explained McKinney. “She’s Diana’s equal. Wonder Woman’s twin. Just as capable, just as powerful, just as deserving of the mantle. She’s important to me and to a lot of other fans.”

Q: What do you hope readers and fans will take away from this story?

A: “I hope they take away that Black girls deserve to be loved and protected, despite any perceived strength. And that doing the right thing and being there for the people you love is its own type of superpower.”

Q: What is your inspiration?

A: “The kids I write for,” said McKinney. “I write novels, and on a school visit to talk about one of my books, I was talking with a bunch of Black kids who remarked on the fact that none of their favorite heroes seemed to know about or care what was happening in the Black community. I realized those kids were right, and when presented with the opportunity to write about a hero, I decided to do that.”

Q: How did you start your career in this industry?

A: “Via a tweet,” said McKinney. “Technically. That’s why someone at DC reached out to me. But I had been writing stories before that and was previously published. That started with a love of storytelling and a desire to see the fantastical tales I loved centered around people that looked like me and my family.”

Q: Is more progress needed as far as diversity and inclusion are concerned in the comic book industry?

A: “More progress is always needed,” McKinney said. “Is it better than before? Sure. But the fact that we still have to discuss it is proof enough that we haven’t gotten to where we need to be.”

Q: What do you think the response to the return of Wonder Woman character, Nubia, will be?

A: “I expect a mixed response, though mostly positive,” said McKinney. “Positive from fans of the character, from people who love comics and ever to see Nubia back in the limelight. And, as always, I expect the usual amount of mess that goes with taking up space in this industry as a Black woman writing about Black women. I shouldn’t have to deal with it, but I know I will.”

Q: What is the essence of the Wonder Woman comic book character, Nubia?

A: “Nubia is a strong, confident, awkward, and still somewhat shy, fun-loving, Slurpee drinking, electric sliding, loving on her friends and family, determined to do the right thing, magical Black girl. Who happens to have superpowers.”

Q: What has your journey of creating this storyline been like?

A: “The best part is being able to touch these characters and this mythos, to add my small drop to an ocean of content and creativity. The most difficult part? It’s always pushing yourself to do the best you can for the book. Not that it’s hard, but we’re all our own worst critics. I want to do right by the character and the readers.”

McKinney reveled in the impact her storytelling can have. The young adult author and comic book writer is hopeful that the Wonder Woman character, Nubia will have a positive impact and a sincere significance for readers. “The thing I love about comics is there’s something for everyone,” McKinney said. “I hope this story finds the readers who need it and Nubia.”